Come And Get Me, Irene

So this weekend is when the infamous Hurricane Irene is supposed to strike. I checked on the weather channel website and she’s supposed to get to where I live on Sunday morning and on their damage/threat level scale, we’re in the mid level zone. Since I did not feel the earthquake, I’m actually kind of excited for some extreme weather! I have a friend at Salisbury University who said that the freshmen there were evacuated. I looked on the weather channel and where Salisbury is is in the highest threat zone.

Yesterday was quite an interesting day. For my mass media and society class we had an experiment where for one day we charted all of our media usage and then another day we had to go without media except when it was related to school or work. I was pretty surprised with how much media that I use; I was on my cell phone almost every other minute. My media-free day, however, was much more interesting. I woke up and went to get dressed. I started off really stressed out because the shorts I tried to put on would not fit me anymore. Normally I would blog about this or text someone to help me lower my anxiety but all of my coping mechanisms were not available. I went through the whole day stressing out about a stupid pair of shorts until 2:00 when I had therapy. After that, I had to make my weekly 45-minute drive up to Columbia to see my dietitian. Let me tell you, a drive that long in the car with no radio and no one to talk to is miserable. My dietitian made me really happy when I went to see her. I told her about the incident with my shorts and how my immediate reaction was that I was not going to eat anything all day. Despite feeling such an urge to restrict, I didn’t act on it and went along with my meal plan. She said that hearing that was the best thing that had happened to her all day. The rest of my day was pretty uneventful. I did a lot of homework and then I went to Red Robin with my friend Amanda. Her boyfriend was working there as a bus boy and he brought us over some balloons. Our other friend, Cyril, was working there too so it was nice to get to see her.

Today has gone pretty well so far. I had one class this morning, French, and we had a super easy quiz in it. After that, I went to go get my weight checked. I am not looking at it, but the nurse told me that I’m doing well. I know that I am close to my goal weight and I wonder when I will reach it. I don’t really care about my weight anymore. I am very happy with the way that I look right now and I know that my body will not change the way it looks before I reach my goal. After that, I went to the post office to mail a package. I had put up some purses on sale on eBay and one of them sold so I was mailing that to the wonderful person who bought it and made me $80 richer. Then, I went to the Lube Center to get my oil changed. I had to wait FOREVER there and it was so hot, I was sweating and my makeup was melting off my face. I bet it was not a nice sight. When I was leaving the guy who was working on my car gave me his number. It’s so nice to know that people are interested in me these days. I think he may be a little old for me, though, so I will see how things go this weekend with the parties and dance that I’m going to and if I meet anyone there before I make a decision about contacting him.

Things in my classes are going pretty well so far. I have a lot of reading to do, but that was expected. My French teacher wanted me to move up to the 103 level class because I have taken 3 years in high school already. I met with my advisor about that because I was unsure if I wanted to do it. It would involve me having to juggle all my classes around and rework my entire schedule. We decided that this would be too much of a hassle to do and that I should just stay in the 101 level class and get a good grade in it. I am happy with that decision. Plus, I needed the refresher anyway.

Things in therapy are going really well. We continue to talk about New York and work on getting me ready for the big move. My dietitian helped me look online for some dietitians up there and we printed out 22 pages of them! It’s pretty overwhelming and she said that she would be happy to call some of them to help me pick out one that is best for me. Yesterday with my therapist we talked about my distorted body image. She asked me how wide I think I am and was surprised to see that I feel a LOT bigger than I really am. She then pulled out some string and started to make a circle with it, asking me when to stop when I thought that she got to the circumference of my thigh. She marked that point and then measured my thigh’s actual circumference- I was about 3-4 inches off. We decided that it’d be a good thing to do a body tracing next time I go in for therapy. That means that I draw what I think my body looks like and then I lay down and trace what it actually is. She wished that I had done this at Remuda because she said that typically peoples’ bodies only grow about 1”. I tend to forget that a lot of the weight that I am gaining is going to my bones, muscles and organs instead of just growing as fat. I think that doing this body tracing will be really helpful. However, I’m really scared that I will be grossly off and actually be a lot bigger than I think I am. I know this is unrealistic, considering that I still fit into a size 25 pant, but it’s just how I feel.

Well that’s all for now. It’s time to get crackin on some more of my endless homework. I have to read almost 40 pages from my psychology of women book, an APA report on female sexualization, read a chapter for newswriting, and do a bunch of activities. Fun. Someone please save me!!

Talk to me!

