Eh

This weekend has been pretty okay. On Friday night I went on my first date. It’s pretty embarrassing that I am 18 years old but have never been on date before. Oh well, the way I look at it is that for such a long time I was always on a date with ED and didn’t want to cheat on him with someone else who would actually have good intentions on a relationship with me instead of one that would literally drive me into the ground. Well to get back to the topic, I met up with him at his apartment and then we walked downtown to one of my favorite restaurants, Isabella’s. It’s a Spanish tapas restaurant and sooooo good. I was really surprised, we got seated immediately. We ordered smoked salmon with a lemon-caper sauce, asparagus fries, beef tips with penne pasta, a portobello mushroom with spinach and cheese on top and hazelnut ice cream with chocolate sauce. It was so delicious.

After dinner we went to the Maryland Ensemble Theater to see the play Why Torture Is Wrong and The People Who Love Them. It was hilarious. I know just seeing the title it’s hard to imagine it being funny, but take my word for it. It was about a woman who meets a guy at Hooter’s, gets really drunk to the point where she has blacked out, wakes up the next morning to find out they’re married and spends the rest of the play trying to figure out if he’s a terrorist. If it is ever playing around you, I totally recommend seeing it. It was pretty cool because we got in for free; my date has worked there before so he knew the woman who was working the cash register.

After the play was over, we took a walk through the park on the way to his place. When we got back to his apartment we watched 28 days later with his roommates. I was having a really hard time following along with the movie, but it was pretty gruesome. By the time the movie was over, it was around 2 and I was too exhausted to feel comfortable driving home so I decided that I’d just stay overnight there. I emailed my mom to let her know my plans and then headed to bed.

We woke up in the morning to his phone buzzing nonstop. He answered it and it was my mom calling to tell him that I needed to call her back immediately. I called my mom and she had apparently never gotten my email and was worried sick. She had been up since 3:30 driving around all over town looking for my car, calling my friends to see if they knew where I was. She eventually got so worried that she called the police to get them to help find me. Needless to say I felt absolutely terrible about the whole ordeal. I got my things and headed home. I apologized over and over to my parents and then my mom went back up to bed and I did the same. I took a nap and woke up around 10:30 and went upstairs to make some breakfast. I don’t know why but I felt so ashamed having to walk past my dad. This whole situation contributed very much to my worry about disappointing my parents. I quickly made my eggs and went downstairs to my room to eat, feeling like I had been punished when I really hadn’t.

Once I was finished eating, my friend Amanda called me because she knew I was upset. I talked to her for as long as I could (she was on her way to work and didn’t have much time to talk) and she really helped me a lot and helped me to see things from a different perspective.

Around noon I heard my mom get up from bed so I went upstairs to talk to her. She noticed my red eyes and sniffling and asked me what was wrong. I told her that I had been crying over how bad I felt. She told me that I really just needed to get over it and look at it as a learning experience. That really helped to calm me down and after that, things seemed to be back to normal.

Later that day, it was In The Streets. That was pretty fun. Well as fun as it can be when it’s exactly the same every year. I walked the whole distance of it, thoroughly enjoying all the great people watching that any event in Frederick entails. I walked by the boutique where I had my internship this summer and stopped by to say hi.  After In The Streets we went to Baker Park again to walk around.

That night I decided that I’d go home for dinner since I hadn’t been around home much in the past couple days. We made grilled steaks, baked potatoes and cucumbers with vinegar and oil. After dinner, I went back downstairs to do some homework. With not much to keep me occupied-homework is so boring- I started to get upset again about the whole situation. I texted Amanda and Colleen some and they helped me a lot. Today I am feeling much better about the whole situation but I still can barely wait for Wednesday to come so I can talk about it with my therapist and get her insight.

In other, totally unrelated news, I could be moving onto campus for the rest of this semester! Sometime last week I turned in a form to request housing for next semester like I planned. I was talking to my mom about it when I got home and she suggested that I should ask to see if I could move onto campus for the remainder of this semester as well. So, the next day I went to school and asked about it at residence life. The man working there said that they currently need to fix some issues they have like people being in a triple that really should be a double and people being temporarily placed in a language house. I have an appointment to meet with him again on Friday to see what he says and if they have room for me. I am really hoping they will. I know it will make things a lot easier when I will be living on campus; I won’t miss out on as much and it will be a lot easier to make and keep friends.

Today was pretty boring. I stayed home most of the time doing homework and procrastinating reading interesting articles on Glamour.com about relationships. Even though this was fun, it let me to feel self-pity for not being in a relationship haha. Here’s a really funny video that someone put on their eHarmony website. I really hope this is a joke because there’s no way that someone could think this would attract people.

Tonight I’m going to be making baked chicken wings, corn on the cob and green beans for dinner. These things are seriously better than any wings I have ever had before and I’m not just saying that because I make them- they’re out of this world and are super-healthy, too.

Tomorrow I have school again 😦 At least on Mon/Wed/Fri I start at 10:30 instead of 8:55 like  do on Tue/Thu. Plus, my first class every day is French which is really easy and laid-back. Unfortunately, though, I have to struggle through a torturous period of History of America until 1860. We’re not allowed to use our laptops in that class so I can’t even distract myself with browsing the internet. I’m forced to…. pay attention! It’s so terrible. If the stupid essays and tests weren’t so easy I would have totally switched out of that class long ago.

Next weekend is the fashion show! I honestly am soooo excited for it. It really does a lot for my self-confidence to know that people want me to be a model. It shows me that I really am not fat like I think I am. Plus, I am excited to get my hair dyed for free and to get pampered for a day. I hope some of my friends can come out and see it, that would make it that much more fun.

Tonight is going to be bittersweet. Like always, it’s Sunday which means that it’s Curb Your Enthusiasm night. Unfortunately, though, tonight is the season finale. It seems like there’s only been about 8 episodes and I can’t believe that it’s over so soon. I have a feeling that it’s going to be hilarious. Michael J. Fox is guest-starring in this episode. I also hope that my favorite character, Leon, is in it a lot. The episode where he got people to treat him better by wearing glasses was classic. If you haven’t seen that, you need to go hunt down a video of it somewhere immediately.

Well I’m probably boring whoever has read all the way down to the end, so I’ll wrap things up 🙂 Thanks for reading

Talk to me!

