Starting Off Well

Today is starting off really well. Last night was my first night in my new dorm room and things were awesome. My roommate and I get along so well; we were up talking until about midnight. I was surprised that I showed her my scrapbook from Remuda. I thought that I would have waited a while before I told her about that whole situation, but I just felt really comfortable talking to her and I know that she won’t go and tell everyone about my business.

I went to dinner with two girls across the hall, Maddie and Rachel. They warned me about the dining hall food, it’s apparently not too great. When I got in there I was getting pretty anxious worrying about what I would eat. Nothing there looked particularly healthy. There was gross meatloaf, greasy pizza and a bunch of fried rice. I ended up having a salad and turkey and rice soup. The soup was actually pretty good. I’ll just have to wait and see what they have tonight for dinner, though. I am hoping that we don’t go to dinner at 5:00 like we did yesterday. At home I am used to eating around 7:30 or 8:00, so it was kind of unusual to eat at 5:00 and I ended up getting hungry again a couple hours later.

After dinner, I went home around 7:00 to pick up some extra stuff that I had forgotten. I got my refrigerator, a chair, my coffee maker, some more clothes, a laundry basket, pictures to hang on the wall and magazines. I waited while my parents had dinner and packed up the car. After that, my mom and I went to Target to get some other things that I needed. I got food, milk, command strips for hanging things on the walls, laundry detergent (lavender scent to go with my lavender dryer sheets), dish soap and outlet strips. When we went to the checkout lines, there were only two registers open and a lot of people were in line. There was another line being opened and we were the second ones in line. The woman in front of us was just insane. She was causing some big fuss about the cost of something that wasn’t even $2.00. She was making the workers go back and try and find the correct price of it. My mom was going to loose it standing behind her. Thankfully, a man who worked there told us to meet him at the photo center and he would check us out there. Once we got checked out, we drove over to Hood and unloaded the car and got ready to take everything up to my room.

I got all my stuff organized and by then it was 9:00. Time just flew by. I was supposed to meet Amanda to do some origami activity in the student center. I went to meet her there and she said that the event was pretty lame so we just went back to my room to hang out. After a little bit, my roommate came back from studying and after a bit Amanda thought that she should probably go home because it was getting late.

Today I was glad to get to wake up a half hour later than I normally would because now I don’t have to allow time for traveling to school. I got dressed, made my oatmeal and coffee as I normally do and headed to French. I totally forgot that today we were supposed to bring a picture of our family to talk about to our classmates. Thankfully I had my laptop so I could just pull a picture up from Facebook. I am such a dork. The good-looking assistant was walking around asking us about the people in our family and once he walked away I turned to my friend and said “well, he’s meeting the family!” Earlier in class he was walking around reviewing how to talk about possessive objects. He came up to me and kept touching my shirt. It was amazing and was the perfect way to start my day. I didn’t even care that he got my shirt all messy from his chalk-covered hands. Needless to say, I will not be washing this shirt. Hahah I am just kidding. I am not that pathetic.

Now I am in Psychology of Women. I was expecting to get back the exam that we took last Thursday. The teacher came into class today and said that we’re not going to get them back until Thursday. Wonderful. So now if I get a bad score on it, it will just ruin my weekend. Well, I take that back. I’m going to New York City this weekend so I don’t really think much could ruin that. 🙂 I just got the assignment for our first Psych paper. We have to watch a debate between two professors about cognitive differences between women and men and then listen to an NPR podcast about it and conclude who won the debate. Doesn’t seem too hard, right? Well, wrong. The video is two hours long. Who in their right mind would want to watch some boring intellectual video about this topic? I do like psychology, don’t get me wrong, but this just seems so boring. At least it’s not as bad as what I had to do in communications last year though. For that class we had to watch a 3-hour long black-and-white silent film about racial differences.

I am going up to NYC to visit LIM college, where I hope to go. It’s a small school for fashion merchandising. LIM doesn’t stand for anything; it used to but then the curriculum changed and they became a fashion school. Originally my mom and dad were both supposed to go up for the two night trip, but my dad is getting some medical work done and doesn’t feel that he would be comfortable going on the trip. We were going to take Amanda instead, but she couldn’t get off work for it. I am kind of upset that I am going to New York for this weekend though. The Frederick fair opened last Friday and is in town through this weekend. I didn’t get a chance to go last weekend and a bunch of my friends are going this Friday. It’s just my luck that I am missing this. I have such perfect timing. At least I’m going to be in New York instead of somewhere stupid like West Virginia. I can’t wait to get up there and go shopping again. One of my favorite stores is there, Topshop. Soho is another one of my favorite places to shop. They have the cutest boutiques there. I just am so excited.

Plus, this is the perfect time of year for me to go. It’s the start of fall, which is my favorite season because I feel that the clothes and fashions for this time of year are best. It’s not as cold as winter, so you don’t have to cover up your cute outfit with a chunky coat but it’s cool enough out to get to layer and wear super cute boots 🙂 I recently got to pull out my boots for the first time this year and I am not going back.

Today my New Writing teacher said that there is a meeting for the school newspaper today and I think I am going to try to go… if I don’t forget. I am really interested in writing something having to do with fashion, so it would be awesome if they want to include that in the paper. Also, my News Writing teacher will give extra credit to anyone who gets something published in the school newspaper or any other publication. That would be awesome. It would certainly make up for the poor scores that I consistently get on our freaking news quizzes. I don’t know how I end up missing everything on those quizzes. I read my CNN news app and my parents occasionally tell me about what’s going on in the world yet I still seem to only know about half of what is on the test. Most of the information I know is entertainment news, too. But from now on, the teacher is going to have all the students submit a question regarding current events and then compile the test based on that. I am thinking that this way things may be a little easier and less obscure, plus, I am guaranteed to get at least one question right haha.

Well I guess I should probably wrap things up, so check back later. I will probably update on how things go with therapy today. I cannot wait to see Beth and get to talk to her.

Talk to me!

