Meet My New Best Friend, Procrastination

The life of a college student is kicking into high gear. I have a paper due Thursday and a book report due next Wednesday to do and I feel like I am doing everything I can to put them off as long as possible. My paper for psych is coming along better than I expected, though. I basically have it all typed up, I just have to go through and clean it up and make sure it flows well. My book report is a whole other story. I still have about 100 pages left to read about stupid James Madison. I am holding off on writing it because my teacher is going to discuss what she wants us to write in it when we have class on Wednesday. It always helps when teachers do that because there’s really no excuse for not giving them what they are looking for. So far I have spent all my time writing blogs, listening to music, and watching youtube videos instead of doing homework.

Last night my roommate and I watched youtube videos for probably 5 hours. It was so much fun yet so unproductive. We saw countless videos of drunk people that me and my friends were sending each other on youtube. The best one was easily one of a man who was falling down drunk in a convenience store and there was another man at a music festival trying to put his flip flops back on.


I hope you find these as funny as I did. You definitely can’t help but laugh. We also watched probably all of Lonely Island’s music videos. How those guys come up with the ridiculous stuff they sing about is beyond me but, hey, I’m not questioning it.

Yesterday in the dining hall one of the features was fried food. Needless to say, I almost had a panic attack. Fried pickles, fried zucchini, fried vegetables, onion rings; it was all too much to handle. I made my way over to the other station and was disappointed (but not surprised) to find that nothing appealed to me. Vegan sloppy joes? No thanks, I pass on those even when they’re normal. I ended up getting some disgusting steamed vegetables and cottage cheese. I don’t even want to think about how many calories went into the cottage cheese, I mean the kitchen probably got some made with whole milk or something ridiculous like that. Tomorrow will be better though, I am going to make some butternut squash risotto for Amanda and I that I picked up in New York City. I will see if anyone else wants to stop by for some because I am sure that we will not be able to eat the whole package ourselves and if we do I will be thoroughly disgusted with myself. Thursday I am planning on making tacos for all of my friends and we’re just going to have a girl’s night. That should be a lot of fun, I am really looking forward to it.

Today was a pretty good day. I started off with French, where I passed along to my friend the bad news about our assistant (who we have a crush on) having a girlfriend. I saw them together going to the dining hall last night and today for some reason unbeknownst to me, she was sitting in on our class. Probably because the teacher was out sick, but still, it’s not like they can talk at all while he’s teaching us. At the end of history we all got our tests back from last week. I got a 96 on it, so I am really happy. I had a good feeling about it so it’s good to know that if I pay attention to the study guides the teacher gives us that I will pass for sure. Communications was slow as usual. Once again, I knew all the material that we covered so I spent the whole period stumbling online. I couldn’t believe it but I watched an 8-minute video of an elephant painting a picture of him/herself. After class got out I went to go hang out with Amanda for a bit. Colleen stopped by around 4:50 and we all went over to my dorm so I could give her the extra agenda I had. Amanda stayed over until 5:30 and then I headed out. I had to go to CVS to transfer a prescription that I have already run out of and to go to Safeway to get some groceries.

After I ran those errands I headed over to Dutch’s Daughter to meet my parents, grandfather and aunt for dinner. We were supposed to go last night but my grandpa changed the reservation so we wouldn’t be scrambling around after getting back from New York. We were there for almost 2 hours. I got the usual- crab cake and sweet potato. My aunt ordered 20 crab cake sandwiches to take back with her to give to her friends and that took a long time for them to prepare even though she ordered them when we were still eating. It was really nice to get to see her again. During dinner my dad brought up something called “boiled peanuts” and said they were some sort of soup. I didn’t believe him (and neither did anyone else for that matter) so I pulled out my phone to look it up on google. The article that I found explained what they are and said that they are commonly called “goober peas.” I almost lost it; it brought back memories from our lovely discussions at Remuda.

Once I said my goodbyes to everyone I made my way back to campus. I couldn’t wait to get in my pajamas and slippers and just relax. Tomorrow is going to be a long day, I can feel it already. Tuesdays and Thursdays are the days when I have 3 classes in a row. Ugh. I think my psych class is going to get observed, too, so I will have to be sneakier at browsing the internet with the observer in there watching us.

Ugh well I am going to climb into bed now and curl up with my wonderful James Madison book. This is a time where I would kill to have a nice cup of tea. I must be crazy for not bringing any with me 😦

One thought on “Meet My New Best Friend, Procrastination

Talk to me!

