Whoopsie Doopsie

I find myself saying “whoopsie doopsie” all the time, thanks to Chelsea Handler and it pretty much sums up how I’ve been doing at keeping up with my blog. I don’t think I’ve updated since Friday which is a long time for me. Since then a lot has happened.

On Friday night we went to the corn maze. Before we left, Amanda, Brittany, Lacey and I all went to Miyako for dinner. I had edamame and a salmon roll, as always. After that, we drove to campus to pick up Amanda’s boyfriend, Randolph. We had to wait for an hour for him to come out of his lacrosse recruit’s dorm. Once he was in the car we drove over to his apartment so he could shower and get ready. On the way there, they were all trying to give me directions. But, because I am terrible at knowing my lefts from rights, this proved to be extremely challenging. At one point, Randolph yelled “this is why women shouldn’t drive!” I knew he was just joking though, I was driving really poorly so I deserved it, haha.

When we got to his apartment, we had to wait for him to shower. While we were doing that, we watched the guys play video games. It was SOOOOOOO exciting. Not. After a while, a bunch of freshman lacrosse players showed up. Randolph introduced us like this: “These sluts are Lacey, Brittany and Erin if any of you feel like getting laid tonight.” Once again, he was just joking. Then one of his roommates screamed from the other room “Lacey’s really easy, too.” God,

guys are just so immature sometimes haha. I thought we were going to head out, but I was wrong; we had to sit around for another half hour and watch them all play video games some more. On our way out, I found a fake mustache on their dining room table, so I asked for some Scotch tape and stuck it on.

There were three other cars driving and I was the only one with directions on how to get there, so they all followed me. I hate driving places where I don’t know where I’m going and that night was extra nerve-racking with three cars following me. I was starting to get nervous that we were going the wrong way because once we got off the highway we were in the middle of no where. It was kind of scary. Rand

olph was wearing his friend’s hat and he stuck his head out the window and the hat totally blew right off. One of the cars behind us ran it over.

We finally got to the corn maze. Some of our friends were already there and we talked to them for a little bit. One of them showed us her feet. It looked like she was wearing brown socks her feet were so dirty from how muddy the corn maze was. There was so way that I was going to step foot in there; I was wearing my tan Toms and there was no way that I was ruining them to get lost in some dumb field. They had other things to do there, though, so that was good. There was a kid area with a small, and I mean small, maze made out of hay bales. It literally took us less than a minute to do. I saw some weird see-saw type thing with animals as the seats. Amanda and I got on it but they didn’t even touch the ground all the way, it was just had a big spring in the middle of it. It was really weird. After about 3 minutes, we were bored with that so we were planning on going over to the bonfire. It was rumored that there was going to be s’mores there but we heard that they had run out. Amanda and I walked around to the different food stands and ticket stand and asked when they would be getting more marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers but no one knew. We finally found the right person to ask and he said that the food would be there in about 15 minutes, so that wasn’t too bad. We decided to just wait and sit by the fire to warm up. Some of the guys decided to go in the maze but they came out a few minutes later, covered in mud. It was disgusting. The s’mores finally got there and I basically was toasting myself standing so close to the fire and getting way too hot. It was so painful. I couldn’t stand in front of the fire for more than 15 seconds. A lot of people left around 10:30 so we headed out a little after they did. Once we got back, we were thinking about going back to Randolph’s apartment but we were all pretty tired, so we decided to stay in. Plus, I had to get up at 6:30 the next morning so I think it was better that I didn’t go out.

The next morning, I was supposed to wake up at 6:30 to meet my mom outside my dorm building at 7:00 to go to her family day celebration at her work, but I stayed in bed until 6:45 and only had 15 minutes to get ready. I looked absolutely horrid. I put on barely any makeup, didn’t do anything to my hair and just was glad that I made my coffee. I got in the car and was just disgusted with how I looked. I hadn’t turned the lights on in the room because I didn’t want to wake up Brittany. I saw that my bangs were absolutely out of control and I had pimples all over my face. I tried to sleep in the car but that was entirely impossible. I can never manage to sleep in the car. I laid my front seat back all the way and tried to see if that would work. All it succeeded in accomplishing was making me sick. I threw up in my mouth and sat up and had to get an empty tupperware container on the floor to vomit in. It was repulsive. My mom couldn’t pull over for about five minutes and when she did I was thankful to clean up. It was really odd; I didn’t feel sick at all. It was just so strange. I think it was either from carsickness or eating too much the night before.

When we got to my mom’s work, it was about 8:00. The event wasn’t supposed to start until 10:00, so we had plenty of time to get things set up. Unlike the 4 other years that we have done this, we had our booth inside. There were 8 stations, so that was good because it gets so crazy and there was expected to be 11,000 people there that day. Once the stations were all set up, my mom took me up to her office so that I could use the microwave to make my oatmeal for breakfast. People started showing up pretty early, so our day started earlier than we expected. Around 1:00 my mom and I took our lunch break. She was under the impression that there was going to be Subway, salads, cheeseburgers, pizza, and chic

ken tenders to eat. Well, everywhere we went there was only chicken tenders, pizza and cheeseburgers. The workers said that they were sold out of Subway, which was disappointing. I was ready to have a meltdown. I couldn’t handle eating greasy, fattening crap that they were offering. My mom talked to one of the people working there to see if they had any more salads and they said that they did. I was so relieved. But, that feeling didn’t last long. When I saw how small and stupid the salad was, I was pretty disappointed. There was no dressing on it and they said that the people at the checkout counters had the dressings. When we bought our meals, I was given Italian dressing that was 100% fat. Cue the meltdown. I knew that I could not eat that salad dressing. My mom said that she had brought yogurt with her, so I decided that I would just eat that. I got a bag of pretzels to make the meal a little more well-rounded.

Thankfully, most of the kids didn’t ask for designs that weren’t on the list. One boy, though, asked me for a “green hole” on his throat. I said that no one would be able to see it there, so I would put it on his forehead. I painted a green circle on his forehead and he looked at it and asked for more. His dad was confused and told me to make it an alien. The boy asked for a “red, green, blue, yellow, pink, purple, orange, and black” alien. Aka: every color that was on my palette. Well, this was so weird. I just drew some stupid looking “alien” (a person with antennae) and showed the boy it in the mirror. He said “why did you do that?” I basically told him to just leave. The day seemed to go by pretty quickly, though. The e

 

vent ended at 3:00 and we were in the car by 3:30. That was great timing compared to every other year that we’ve done this; it usually takes about an hour to pack up and leave.

Saturday night, I went to a party with Brittany and two other people Dan and Megan. The party was at the apartment of a guy on the track team. It was really fun. There weren’t too many people there but everyone who was there were really nice. I thankfully remembered to bring my camera and I took over 40 pictures. I will try to post some at the end of this blog. We stayed there until about 1:30 and then came back to the dorm. I gave my camera’s memory card to Brittany and she uploaded the pictures to her computer and spent an hour editing them so they were Facebook-appropriate and then posted them up. I didn’t get to sleep until around 4:00.

Sunday morning, I woke up at 10:15 and got ready to go to brunch with Brittany and Lacey at 10:45. I had some hot tea, oatmeal and peaches to eat. After hanging out in the dining hall for a bit, we went back to the room and hung out until 1:45. Then, we went over to the Hodson Auditorium to watch the screening of the movie The Help. It was such a good movie. I wish that I would have read the book before I saw the movie, though. Brittany and I went to Whitaker to do some homework after the movie was over. I got about 1/3 of my paper for history written. At 5:30 I went to Safeway to get the rest of the groceries for taco night.

Everyone started coming over for tacos at 6:00 and I started cooking in the kitchen in our basement. Everyone really loved the tacos and it was a fun night. After we were done eating and cleaning up I headed home to get some warm jackets since it w

as 40 degrees today and the warmest thing I had was a sweater. Not cool. I got some colorful Expo markers to put on our white board outside our room, some Halloween-themed window clings, a dress for my Halloween costume and some jackets obviously. I got back to the room, showered and did some more homework. I forgot that I had an assignment for my communications class due tomorrow until my friend texted me and asked what the homework was. I had to rush to pull that assignment completely out of my ass. So not fun. I was watching the Ravens game and they won again! They’re doing pretty well this season.

Well it’s time to wrap things up and get back to my history paper. I’m determined to finish this book paper tonight even if it kills me.

Here’s some pictures from the Saturday night party as promised.
 That one is me and my roommate 🙂

One thought on “Whoopsie Doopsie

Talk to me!

