I Need Suggestions

I have been thinking a lot about the whole idea of writing a book about my recovery. I have finally decided that I am just going to start writing and see what comes of it all. Once I get my piece done, I will then ask my family and friends if they want to write something to add to it. That said, I have been putting a lot of thought into what the content of this book will have, and that’s where I need some suggestions. Every book that I read about eating disorders was written from the point of view of the person suffering from the disorder, not their loved ones or anyone watching the destruction from the outside. I know that that is definitely a point of view that I want to include in my book, because I know my mom said that she was disappointed that those topics weren’t covered in books she read, that if they had been it would have been really helpful to her.

Here’s what I have come up with so far:

  • Onset/stressors that caused my anorexia
  • The beginning stages, when I thought that it was just a diet and healthier eating habits
  •  Going to Loyola and falling into a deeper depression
  • Coming home from Loyola
  • Starting at Hood and having things fall even further downhill
  • Accepting that I needed more serious help
  • Going to Remuda
  • My slip-up after coming home from Remuda
  • Regaining my social life
  • Opening up to trust again
  • Learning lessons of taking things slowly
  • Trying to love myself no matter what my weight is
  • Depending on my family, friends and treatment team for support and the best advice
  • Coping methods that I use on days when ED won’t shut up
  • Anecdotes written by my Mom, Dad and best friend Amanda about their experience with watching me go through this struggle
If anyone who is reading this can think of something else that I should try and address in my book, PLEASE let me know!!!
Leave a comment or feel free to email me at eld6@hood.edu

Thank you everyone 🙂 I will certainly keep updating on the status of how well this whole plan turns out.

Talk to me!

