You’ve Got To Be Kidding Me

I am pretty irritated right now. I just got back from my Psych of Women class and I couldn’t believe some of the things that my teacher said today. We were discussing psychological disorders, which includes depression and eating disorders. Naturally, this was going to be a sensitive subject for me. I had emailed the teacher a couple days earlier telling her that I was comfortable with talking to the class about my recovery if it would help the discussion. She thanked me for being open to this and I was thinking that this class was going to go well.

Most of her discussion went well and she seemed really sincere about stressing how dangerous and life-threatening eating disorders can be. I shared a couple details about what I have been through and then she made a comment that really got to me. She was talking about how important it is to tell someone who you think might be struggling with an eating disorder how you are concerned about them and are going to be there if they need someone to talk to.

She made an example of what not to say, though, and that’s where she got me. She said “you don’t want to go up to someone and say ‘hey! you’re way too skinny and I’m pretty sure I hear you throwing up in the bathroom all the time.'” and then she laughed, along with the rest of the class. Seriously?? That is not something you joke about under any circumstances. I just could not believe that she said something like that. It was totally unprofessional and completely downgraded the seriousness of the discussion. She even started talking about Dr. Drew, which led the discussion to his show, Dr. Phil and Teen Mom. Those people have nothing to do with eating disorders, so why would anyone think it’s appropriate to talk about them?

I was upset with how little she talked about treatment, too. She only touched on how medication isn’t beneficial to treating eating disorders and that you need cognitive therapy to really have treatment be effective. Um, I think she missed one of the most important things: EATING. I don’t think people in that class understand just how terrifying eating something can be for someone with an eating disorder. I didn’t want to say anything, though, because that would have been disrespectful and it is not my place to determine what she decides to discuss in class or not.

Ugh well I am just really irritated right now. I can’t believe that she said the things that she did. I just want to not go back to that class anymore, but because that’s not possible, I want to just get this semester over with and be happy that I don’t have to take any more psych classes so there’s no chance that I will have to take a class from her again.

Talk to me!

