Venting

Well. Where to begin with today? How about I start with the bad so I can finish things up on a positive note. I woke up this morning around 10:00 and at 10:30 decided to have some blueberries. After eating them, I felt so sick. I have no idea why. I didn’t drink anything last night, so that was ruled out. I went to the bathroom and got sick a little bit. I came back to the room and just laid down in bed for a bit. Thankfully by 11:30 my discomfort passed.

I planned to go to my house with Amanda, Colleen and my other friend Mel to get some dresses for them to borrow for the dance at school tomorrow. I picked them all up and we got over to my house. We were pleased to find a bag of chocolate and snacked on that for a little bit. Watching them try on my dresses was so hard. Finding clothes in my closet that there is a 90% chance that they don’t fit me anymore was hard enough. Then my friends started trying on my dresses. When Amanda put on my blue tight open-back BCBG dress from sophomore homecoming was really difficult. The only thing I could think of was that it looked better on her than I could ever imagine looking in it. I never want to wear it again. Mel tried on a couple of my dresses and they all look fabulous on her. She has the nicest curves and looked stunning in my dresses, especially a red one that I wore for senior homecoming. Also, I never want to wear those again. No way that my body will look as good in them. Then Colleen was trying on a couple dresses and they all looked awesome on her, too. Why do things not fit me correctly and lay in a flattering way? The main thought in my mind was that even though the dress that I bought for this dance is really cute, once I put it on my body will completely ruin everything. No one will want to dance with me at all and that’s one of my biggest fears. I just hope that even though I can’t appreciate my body today, that tomorrow night someone out there will be able to. Someone who wouldn’t be a danger for rape.

On to the positive things. When we were at my house, I picked up my artificial Christmas tree, some lights and a stocking to put up in our room. Thank God that we live in the building with the biggest rooms because there’s no way that my tree would fit in any other building’s room. I also brought a picture back and a bunch of other dresses in case my friends need to borrow one for the dance (which so far two other people have taken me up on). I got the rest of the ingredients that I needed to finally make my pumpkin bread that I’ve wanted to bake for weeks. There were a lot of surprises waiting for me at home, too! There was a package full of strawberry yogurt chex that I had ordered a couple days ago (when we were at Remuda, that was one of the snacks we had and I have been searching high and low since May for them and finally found a website that sells them). There was in InStyle magazine and Free People catalogue. And finally (and best) there was a birthday present from my grandparents. I waited to open it until I got back to my room. It is a hand-crafted wooden basket that my grandpa, or Pop Pop, made me. It will work wonderfully for holding all my junk on my desk!

When I got back to campus, I made some oatmeal since I hadn’t eaten anything substantial yet. I relaxed in bed for a bit and did some homework while two of my friends were trying on dresses. When they left, I completed the assembly of my tree. It barely fits in the room even after some furniture rearrangement, but it looks awesome. I hung my Eeyore stocking on the heating/AC box in front of our window.

Then, I got my ingredients together and went down to the kitchen to make my pumpkin bread. Problem time: there was no can opener or bread pan. What kind of kitchen is this??? I texted Mel, who has an apartment, and I went over to borrow the things I needed. Then I went over to CVS real quick and got Brittany some vapor pads because she’s been really congested today and yesterday. On my way up to the checkout, I got distracted. There was a huge, fuzzy stuffed bear. I checked how much it was and was pleasantly surprised to see that it was on sale! I picked it up and got it without a second thought.

I finally got back to campus and now I am down in the kitchen making my bread. It smells so good and I am worried about how much we will have for ourselves- I promised some to a lot of people. Oh well, we’re the priority and I make sure that we have some.

Last night the dining hall had Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone said how delicious it was last year and I had a hard time believing it because the rest of the dinners aren’t too great. I was proven wrong. We lined up about 15 minutes before the dining hall opened. When we got in, they had a huge buffet table set up with sweet potatoes, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, sauerkraut, corn, turkey, macaroni and cheese, cranberry sauce, rolls and other things I can’t remember. There were pies, cookies and pumpkin rolls on the dessert table. I ate so so so much. I don’t remember the last time that I experienced that level of fullness. After dinner, Brittany and I relaxed for a bit and then went to the gym. Once we were done in the gym, I just chilled in the room. Brittany went to go do some homework, so I went down to do laundry for the first time in about 2 weeks. It was really piling up. I took my laptop down with my and listened to music and made friendship bracelets while I was waiting for my clothes to be washed.

I am so excited for tomorrow. It is the annual Messiah dance here and it is always everyone’s favorite. It’s semi-formal so everyone’s getting pretty dressed up. Think homecoming. I’m wearing a red lace one-shoulder form-fiting dress and nude pumps. I still don’t know what jewelry I’m going to wear, so that’s a bit of a problem. The other day me and my friend Megan both got fake eyelashes to try and wear for the dance, so I’ll see how those work out.

Well I think that’s basically all I have to say, so I will end things now. My pumpkin bread just got done baking, so I obviously have the best timing. I will update later with pictures from the dance!

Talk to me!

