Well Hello There, 2012

The past couple days have been great. Some of my friends from school came back to Frederick and I have been hanging out with them a lot. I’ve just been chilling most of the time, watching all the great movies I got for Christmas and plowing my way through every episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm.

My New Year’s celebration was really, really awesome. I was supposed to go to Colleen’s house but she had to cancel because one of her family members was due to have a baby then. I ended up going out with my friends Christina, Mel and Emily. I met their other apartmentmate, Kristen, who has been studying abroad for the past semester. She was really nice and I had a great time. Like I mentioned in my last post, I was having a lot of insecurities about myself before I went out, but that went away and I was able to have a really good time.

First, we started our night at an apartment that was just really low key. Not many people with us were having much fun, so we left there around 10:00 to head to the next party. At the next party, there were a lot more people there, but I didn’t know many at all. A little while after we arrived, some more people showed up and I knew one of them. We stayed at that party until a little after 11:00 and then headed over to our final destination for the night. About 8 people left with us and we made our way to a house downtown.

The last party was so awesome. Like the other two, I didn’t know many (or any) people there, but it was much more packed than the others. I don’t know if it was because it was a bigger space or just a more fun party. I’m thinking the latter. I put down my coat and then headed upstairs where the dance area was. It was so legit! There were fog machines, laser lights, strobe lights and a big DJ setup. Easily the best party and best New Year’s celebration I’ve been to.

I went downstairs to take a breather with a special someone, and then when we were going back up to the dance party, I noticed it was 11:59. At midnight, I made a big to-do of it was was yelling and wishing everyone a happy new year. Oh, and I did get my new year’s kiss ๐Ÿ™‚ I like this guy, he makes me smile and is different from anyone I’ve met.

After the party, we went back to my friends’ apartment. Said special person came with us and I was really sad when he had to go home. I was glad that he dragged it out as long as he could though ๐Ÿ™‚ The rest of the night was kind of a shit show. One guy was getting sick and I was the only one up and sober enough to help him out. I spent a ridiculous amount of time in the bathroom with him, waiting for him to throw up whatever large amount of alcohol was in his stomach. When I finally thought he was done puking for the night, I laid down a sheet on the floor for him to sleep on and got him a pillow. All was well for a minute until he started throwing up on the sheet and his shirt. I was on duty to clean up that mess. Going by my misjudgment, I decided to use my mom’s old trick of getting a bowl and putting a plastic bag in it for him in case he got sick any more before falling asleep. It proved to be very useful. I didn’t get to sleep until after 3:30. I was awoken at 8:45 by the guys coming back to the apartment with stuff to make breakfast. We had scrambled eggs and hash browns. It was really good. After breakfast, I decided to head home, get a shower and take a nap to catch up on my lack of sleep in the past couple days.

Today continued my steak of great days. I started off with a really great therapy session. My therapist can tell that I am much happier than I was the last time I saw her. After that, I drove to go visit the special guy again and I had a really, really wonderful time. We just snuggled in his room, listened to music and watched movies. Time literally flew by and before I knew it, it was 5:00 and I had to drag myself out to the car to go home. I got to meet his mom and she is so nice and sweet. I didn’t want to leave, but I knew if I didn’t leave then, my parents would probably be getting concerned about where I was. I can’t wait to see him again. It was embarrassing, though, because I actually started crying. No one has treated me the way he has and it’s just so refreshing to be with someone who treats me the way I deserve to be treated (even if I don’t think I deserve to be treated that way).

Well that’s all for now. I am about to go make some dinner. I am thanking Christina for the inspiration for this meal: I’m making rice and beans! ๐Ÿ™‚

Talk to me!

