10 Phases of Recovery

Well, here’s writing assignment number 2:

In my book, The 8 Keys to Recovering from an Eating Disorder by Carolyn Costin, she lists 10 phases of recovery:

1) I don’t think I have a problem
2) I might have a problem but it’s not that bad
3) I have a problem but I don’t care
4) I want to change but I don’t know how and I’m scared
5) I tried to change but I couldn’t
6) I can stop some of the behaviors but not all of them
7) I can stop the behaviors, but not my thoughts
8) I am often free from behaviors and thoughts, but not all the time
9) I am free from behaviors and thoughts
10) I am recovered

This assignment asks me to look at these phases and determine which phase I am in. 

I would say that I am solidly in phase 6. I have eating disorder thoughts almost constantly and I do act on them from time to time. I feel as though I would be happier if I lost weight. I feel compulsions to exercise. I count calories without even thinking twice. I know that some meals I restrict. 

I get discouraged admitting to myself that I am in this stage because I have definitely slipped back considerably from a couple months ago. I believe that at my best, I was in phase 8. I feel as though I’ve failed myself, failed my treatment team, failed my family and failed my friends. Some days I think it’d be easier to just throw the towel in and fall into weight loss again. Weight loss is a safe, happy place for me. One of my biggest fears is gaining weight, and I know that if I am losing weight I am free from that worry. 

To keep going forward I have to remind myself of where I have come from. I came from a shell basically. I essentially had no contact with friends other than my mother. My daily happiness would begin with the number on my scale. After a momentary happiness from a consistent weight or a drop, I would feel as though even that weight was not low enough. I would battle guilt from whatever I ate; even if it was a “safe” food, I was eating too much of it. 

But then the eating disorder pops in my mind and reminds me of the better place where I’ve slipped from. I slipped from a carefree happiness where 90% of the time I didn’t worry about what I ate. I was happy and smiling and living on campus like a normal college student. Now I am sad and depressed most of the time, feel the need to cry a lot more than I should, get stressed out when things are out of my tight grip of control, and am ridden with anxiety at food or weight. I am not even living on campus anymore; I had to move home a couple weeks ago because I couldn’t deal with the stress I was going through. 

This is not where I want to be. 

I’m trying really hard to get back on track, but I feel that my intense desire to lose weight is like a huge concrete wall in front of me. I can’t go forward, but I can definitely turn back. Yes, it really scares me, but I hope that my support system can help me to break down that wall. 

 

One thought on “10 Phases of Recovery

  1. Through seo services Singapore you will be able to add
    value to your website, increase your search engine rankings thus
    increasing traffic for your website. If you’re a neighborhood organization, We’ve beneficial news
    for you. Since search engines take hundreds and hundreds of
    factors into consideration in generating search results return, keyword density is no longer the primary way
    to maximize SEO for a web site.

Talk to me!

